R & R and Resolutions

Whew! I love the quiet period after Christmas Day. As much as I love Christmas, and I really do love it- the lights, the carols, the Christmas story itself – I really enjoy these days after Christmas – don’t you?

The weeks leading up to Christmas are crazy busy. The to-do list is endless: putting up lights, decorating the tree, baking cookies, shopping for the perfect gift. And all this special activity leaves very little time for regular activities, like PTA meetings, or work. I stay up past midnight searching the internet for a Furbie Boom for daughter, or a garden hose for my husband. Romantic- right? But I confess that I am easily distracted by videos of the Pentatonix singing “Silent Night” or cats dive bombing Christmas trees – which only adds to the exhaustion situation.

Christmas DecorationsSo now that the actual day has passed, it’s time to really enjoy the fruits of the decorating frenzy. I love to relax in front of the fire and just look at the twinkling lights of the tree. I listen to carols, eat another chocolate-peppermint cookie, and reflect on the year that is coming to a close. Did I accomplish everything I wanted? Hold on – everything? Maybe that’s a bit too ambitious. Let’s scale back. Did my daughter make the school bus every day? Yes! Now that’s an accomplishment. And the flip side: I definitely could have cut back on the sweets more.

This reflection invariably leads to…New Year’s Resolutions. What better way to end the year than with sweeping proclamations about the things we will do better next year? There is something so satisfying about starting off the new year with a plan. And yet, the failed resolution is a cliché- who hasn’t started off the year vowing to lose weight, save more money, or be a better parent only to find slippage by March, or even February?

This year, I’m going to try making small changes which will hopefully add up. Here’s my list:

  1. Walk more, sit less.
  2. Eat more vegetables, eat less sugar.
  3. Play more, worry less.
  4. Say “Yes!” once a month to something I usually say “No!” to!
  5. Treat myself once in awhile.

I’m going to have fun with number 5. I love the idea of indulging myself with luxurious pleasures. So many possibilities: I could see a non-Disney movie for the first time in years or shut the door to my room and listen to anyone but Ariana Grande. I might even lounge the day away in these sumptuous silk pajamas. We all deserve a little luxury in our lives. How will you treat yourself in 2015?

 Evening Lounge Pajamas

Liz Smith has worked across the globe for many of the world’s major apparel brands, including Victoria’s Secret, Chico’s, Justice, and Hanes. She has earned thousands of airline points and worn out several suitcases visiting factories in more than 20 countries to ensure that production is of the highest standard. Liz has managed all aspects of garment production, from design through fabric development to sewing and merchandising– so she knows what it takes to make high-quality apparel. Liz is thrilled to share her knowledge about clothes to help discerning customers choose the finest products. Learn more about Liz by reading her personal blog.

Leave a Reply

